Burrowing Owl — A Knowing Wink?

You may enlarge any image in this blog by clicking on it. Click again for a detailed view.

We humans tend to attribute human characteristics to many of the life forms that we encounter. We think of animal behavior in human terms when, to the animal, the behavior means something that isn’t human at all.

Here’s a case in point. I recently photographed this Burrowing Owl, seemingly winking at me:

People tend to regard Burrowing Owls as being cute, no doubt due to the fact that they resemble children’s plush toys. So an image of an owl winking might be irresistible to many.

I have no idea why the owl closed only one eye. It certainly wan’t trying to communicate with me. That said, I think that I could fill a book with images of Burrowing Owls acting in ways that humans find cute or comical. In fact, I have a few images that I’ll be posting soon.

Image made with a Canon R5, Canon EF 400mm f4 DO II lens+Canon EF 1.4x telextender, M setting (auto ISO), ISO 1000, f5.6 @ 1/3200.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.