Ash-throated Flycatcher

You may enlarge any image in this blog by clicking on it. Click again for a detailed view.

Here we go again! It’s that season when I drive myself a bit crazy trying to ascertain the minute distinguishing characteristics that differentiate the numerous species of flycatchers that make southern Arizona their spring-summer residences. I know some birders who are good at it and there are certainly ornithologists who can distinguish between flycatcher species at a glance. I’m neither and I struggle every year.

I photographed this flycatcher the other day.

I will say confidently that this is an Ash-throated Flycatcher. Now how do I distinguish between this little beauty and its look-alike cousin, the Brown-crested Flycatcher? Trust me when I say that the differences in appearance are really slight (although the Brown-crested Flycatcher has a distinctly larger beak than the Ash-throated Flycatcher possesses). The two species also occupy essentially the same desert habitat.

So, how did I make this identification? I did it based on the two species’ calls, which are very different. I was with a friend when we photographed this bird and he played this species’ call in order to make a positive identification. Otherwise, I probably would have been left shrugging my shoulders.

Images made with a Canon R5, Canon EF 400mm f4 DO II lens+Canon EF 1.4x telextender, supported by monopod, M setting (auto ISO), first image ISO 2000, f6.3 @ 1/3200. Second image, ISO 1000, f5.6 @ 1/3200.

One Reply to “Ash-throated Flycatcher”

  1. burrdoo says:

    Love that second shot!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.