More Vermilion Flycatcher Images

You may enlarge any image in this blog by clicking on it. Click again for a full screen image.

I hesitated a bit before deciding to post today’s images of a Vermilion Flycatcher.  I don’t like to repeat myself too much and I posted images of what is very likely the same bird just a couple of weeks ago.  But, these are pretty nice images and so I decided to just go ahead and post them.

But, first, the story of how I came to take these pictures.  I’ve been frequenting a public park — Ft. Lowell Park — just a couple of miles from our home.  At first glance it doesn’t look like a good venue for bird photography, but looks can be deceiving.  The park’s little pond and its trees attract numerous songbirds this time of year.  Among these are at least a couple of male Vermilion Flycatchers.

These beautiful little birds are territorial.  A male will select a few trees spread out over several acres and visit them repeatedly.  I noticed that this particular Vermilion’s favorite trees included one large mesquite tree adjacent to the park’s pond.  Over the course of several days I watched as he visited that tree repeatedly.  So, one afternoon, I decided not to search for the bird but to wait for him to come to me.  I stood about 20 yards from the tree and waited.  Sure enough, after a few minutes, he flew in and landed on one of the tree’s lower branches.  I took a few pictures and after a minute or two he flew off.  I moved about 10 yards closer and waited some more.  A few minutes later he returned to the same branch.  He paid no attention to me.  I repeated the process once more and now I was five yards from the tree.  The bird returned.  Again, I photographed him.

I assumed that this would be it.  After the bird flew I walked into the shade of the tree to check the images on the back of my camera.  As I stood there I heard a whirring noise and there he was, now only about 10 feet away.  This was an opportunity that I wasn’t going to pass up.

In nature photography chances like these don’t come along very often and I was really anxious to make the most of it.  As the little flycatcher sat there and looked at me I adjusted the settings on my camera, wanting to make sure that I got it right.  I wound up taking dozens of pictures and the ones I’m showing today are the best of them.

I’m not done with the story of this bird.  I went back to Ft. Lowell Park several days after I took these photos and discovered that my new friend had found love. I’ll post some photos of the happy couple in a few days.

Images made with a Canon 5Diii, 100-400mm f4.5-5.6 ISII zoom lens+1.4x telextender, aperture priority setting, ISO 500, f8 @ 1/1250.

 

One response to “More Vermilion Flycatcher Images”

  1. tkiiatmindspringcom says :

    What a beautiful color!

Leave a Reply

