Burrowing Owl Does Its Best Cyclops Imitation

You may enlarge any image in this blog by clicking on it. Click again for a full screen image.

Who doesn’t love Burrowing Owls?  I know I do.  Somehow, these little owls never cease to amuse.

The other day I made this image of a Burrowing Owl standing near its burrow.  This particular owl is an old acquaintance of mine.  I’ve photographed it on several occasions.  Last summer and autumn the owl always was present with a mate.  Lately, I’ve seen it standing by itself.  That doesn’t mean that the owl is now single.  It’s possible that its mate was out foraging when I encountered it or even that the mate is now down in the burrow sitting on a clutch of eggs. I’ll keep checking and we’ll see.

I have several nice images of this owl facing me head on, but I greatly prefer this image, showing the owl with its head in profile.

_38a3528-copy

There’s just something very appealing about this image.  Somehow, one giant eye commands more attention than two.

If you look closely at it you’ll see blood on the feathers surrounding the owl’s beak.  Evidently, my little friend had dined recently.  As cute as these owls are, they are a holy terror if you happen to be a mouse or other small rodent.

Image made with a Canon 5Diii, 100-400mm ISII zoom lens+1.4x telextender, aperture priority setting, ISO 800, f8 @ 1/500.

One response to “Burrowing Owl Does Its Best Cyclops Imitation”

  1. tkiiatmindspringcom says :

    I always like these odd-looking little fellows!

Leave a Reply

