1000

You may enlarge any image in this blog by clicking on it. Click again for a full screen image.

Today’s post is my 1000th.  I began this blog back in 2014 more or less on a whim.  I made my first post — “Magnificent Fliers”  — on February 10 of that year.  Since then I’ve attempted to post daily and have been able to do so with the exception of some vacations and business trips when I wasn’t near my computer.

The blog has kept me motivated to get out and take pictures and taking pictures has motivated me to post the best of them.  In the nearly three years that I’ve done this I’ve traveled across a good bit of southeastern Arizona looking for wildlife to photograph.  I’ve hiked in the desert, driven through agricultural country, visited our grasslands, and poked around at the summit of one of our highest local mountains.  I’ve photographed in snow and in 100+ degree temperature and I’ve made hikes in the dead of night.  I’ve carried my cameras to places as disparate as the high arctic and to the sand dunes of the western Sonoran Desert.  I’ve photographed wildlife as diverse as jumping spiders and walruses.  I’ve had a few misadventures and near-misadventures along the way.  I’ve come within a foot of stepping on a rattlesnake and I’ve fallen into a creek while attempting to photograph a spider.  And, I’ve loved every minute of it.  This blog has kept me feeling young, and I won’t quit so long as I can hold a camera and move my feet.

I’m commemorating today’s anniversary by re-posting an image that rates as one of my all-time personal favorites.

_n4b6163-copy

I’ve named this one “Sleeping Madonna and her Children.”  I made this image while crammed into a zodiac with more than a dozen other avid photographers at about three a.m. one day in June 2015 while on a trip to Svalbard, one of the northernmost land masses in the world, just about 700 miles from the North Pole.  It was the adventure of a lifetime.  I’d been encouraged to take this trip by my very good friend, Claude Wegscheider.  Seventeen of us, including Claude and the crew of three, spent two weeks on a small boat exploring the arctic.  The trip was organized by a French company, Photographes du Monde, and I was the only non-native French speaker on the boat.  Believe me, I had trepidations.  But, my concerns vanished the minute I climbed on board.  It was a wonderful two weeks with some of the friendliest people I’ve ever associated with.

I would never have taken that trip but for my passion for photographing wildlife.  And, of course, writing this blog has kept that passion burning.  To sum up, it’s been three great years for me.  Tomorrow will be post 1001.

Image made with a Canon 5Diii, 400 DO, aperture priority setting, ISO 640, f6.3 @ 1/2000.

 

 

7 responses to “1000”

  1. Sam Angevine says :

    Congrats-! Sweet shot-! >

  2. J Ghishan says :

    Simply beautiful! A mom and her cubs! Congratulations on posting 1000 exceptional photographs and for

    the charming essays that accompany them. I am privileged to be able to receive them!

    Hope you are feeling well! Hi to Louisa.

    Joan Ghishan

    ________________________________

  3. Claude Wegscheider says :

    I have tremendously enjoyed your 1,000, soon to to be 1,001 postings. You must feel like Shehrazad. Except for the fact that you will start another 1,001 stories.
    You couldn’t find a better photo for the occasion. This is one of my most prized photographic memories of all times.

  4. Ned Harris says :

    Congratulations on 1000 posts. Very impressive. They are frequently the highlight of my day. Keep up the good work.

  5. Tom Munson says :

    Beautiful work, Steve. That was a great trip.

  6. karin Kalff says :

    This is a glorious photo. Thank you for sharing it!! Made my day!

    ~Karin

    >

  7. burrdoo says :

    Congrats on the results of your photographic adventures Steve. Couldn’t have made a better choice for your 1K trophy shot. Looking forward to the next grand.

Leave a Reply

