Heron’s Portrait

You may enlarge any image in this blog by clicking on it.  Click again for a full screen image.

The other day I posted a few images of a juvenile Black-Crowned Night Heron.  The bird is currently residing in a public park where it has become habituated to human presence.  It is so used to people that one can approach to within a couple of feet of it and it doesn’t react.

I was back at the park a couple of days ago and I again saw the Heron.  I thought to myself: why not take advantage of this bird’s indifference to people and make a portrait?  I approached to a distance of about five feet from the bird, knelt on the ground, and made this eye-level image.

_38a7558-copy

I find the bird’s brilliant orange-colored eye to be the obvious center of attraction in this portrait.  In another year or so when the bird is mature, its eye will be ruby red. Many birds’ eyes change color as they mature.  I have no idea why.

Image made with a Canon 5Diii, 400mm f4.5-5.6 ISII zoom lens, aperture priority setting, ISO 400, f7.1 @ 1/1250.

One response to “Heron’s Portrait”

  1. Victor Rakmil says :

    Great portrait. The eyes are ruby-red.

Leave a Reply

