Bewick’s Wren

You may enlarge any image in this blog by clicking on it.  Click again for a full screen image.

The other day I posted a couple images of a Marsh Wren.  I thought that would be the last wren I’d see or photograph for a while.

I was wrong about that.  Just a couple of days ago I had an opportunity to photograph a member of another wren species.  This is a Bewick’s Wren.

_38a6370-copy

I found this wren prowling around at the base of some trees in a public park.  I had to wait several minutes in order to get this image.  I knew that the bird was there but it stubbornly refused to emerge from dense brush for quite a while. Then, it popped into the open for just a few seconds and I was ready for it.

Like many wren species this little bird is secretive, spending most of its life hiding in underbrush.  Many wren species, including Bewick’s Wren, are actually quite common and yet, people rarely see them because of their reclusive lifestyles.    In Arizona I have photographed four wren species so far (Cactus Wren, Rock Wren, Marsh Wren, and Bewick’s Wren).  Of these, only the Cactus Wren appears often out in the open.  It is a downright exhibitionist compared to its cousins.

Image made with a Canon 5Diii, 100-400mm f4-5.6 ISII zoom lens, aperture priority setting, ISO 1000, f8 @ 1/500.

Leave a Reply

