Meadowlarks On A Fence

You may enlarge any image in this blog by clicking on it.  Click again for a full screen image.

I’ve mentioned before how much I like photographing Meadowlarks.  These seasonal visitors to southern Arizona are  extremely photogenic.

A couple of days ago I was driving in farm country when I saw these two sitting on a fence.  I knew immediately that they would make a good picture.  However, I wanted to capture them both facing in the same direction.  That was no easy task.  One would look one way, the other would look in a different direction, and I couldn’t get them to coordinate.  I was also very fearful that one or both would fly before I got my shot.

Luck was on my side.  Just when I had concluded that I’d never get the image that I wanted, the two swiveled their heads in tandem.

_38a5170-copy2

Image made with a Canon 5Diii, 100-400 mm ISII zoom lens+1.4x Telextender, aperture priority setting,  ISO 1000, f8 @ 1/320.

One response to “Meadowlarks On A Fence”

  1. tkiiatmindspringcom says :

    Wonderful photograph, Steve!

Leave a Reply

