The Tetons — Some Views Of The Snake River Valley

You may enlarge any image in this blog by clicking on it.  Click again for a full screen image.

The Teton landscape may be the most photographed in the world.  If not, it certainly ranks right up there in popularity as a source of landscape photography.  I couldn’t resist making a few images of my own when we were up there recently.

A brief word about my philosophy as a landscape photographer.  I don’t consider myself to be really good at it. There are photographers who devote themselves as intensely to landscapes as I do to wildlife and I defer to them when it comes to technique.  That said, I try to make my images as natural appearing as possible.  The trend these days seems to be in the direction of heavy color saturation and that’s just not my idea of what a good landscape photograph should look like. One can always buy a postcard if that’s what turns one on.

Today’s images are from the valley of the Snake River at the northern end of Grand Teton National Park. The Snake River exits Jackson Lake at that point and the views are great, whether looking away from the lake or towards it, especially early in the morning.  The watchword with landscape photography is that the one-hour windows just after sunrise and just before sunset are the ideal times to make images.  As a general rule that is right.  I took all of these photos within an hour of sunrise.  The first image depicts the plains surrounding the river bank.  It was a foggy morning when I took this picture and the fog is visible in the background, as are the Tetons, which are in deep shadow in this image.

_92a9333-copy-copy

A second image depicts the Snake River, looking away from Jackson Lake and facing south. The fog renders the colors of the shoreline vegetation somewhat muted, an effect that I very much like.

_92a9338-copy-copy

Here’s an image of the river, now facing northwest, towards the Tetons.  I took this photograph from the same location as the second image, I just turned around.   This is a pretty iconic scene.  There was a horde of photographers at the same spot all taking the same photographs.  When I took the first and second photos I was facing in the opposite direction of everyone else.  Thereafter, I joined the herd.

_92a9353-copy-copy

Finally, an image of the river just after it exits Jackson Lake.

_92a9362-copy-copy

Images made with a Canon 5DS-R, 16-35mm f4 IS L zoom lens, M setting, ISO 160.  All images shot at f11.  The first, third and final images shot at 1/60, the second image shot at 1/50.

2 responses to “The Tetons — Some Views Of The Snake River Valley”

  1. Tom Munson says :

    Beautiful images, Steve. Your timing was perfect for the autumn colors. Tom

  2. tkiiatmindspringcom says :

    All of these are stunning scenes!

Leave a Reply

