Question: Which Of These Two Burrowing Owls is Unconcerned About UFOs?

You may enlarge any image in this blog by clicking on it.  Click again for a full screen image.

I’m still working my way through the mass of photos that I took in the Tetons and Yellowstone.  Hopefully, I’ll be about ready to start posting some of them tomorrow.

Meanwhile, a couple of weeks ago, I drove past my favorite pair of Burrowing Owls.  They never cease to disappoint, these two, their capacity to provide comic relief is seemingly endless.  At first, they watched me, seemingly  indifferently.

_38a0066-copy

Then, suddenly, one of them, the smaller bird, stared hard at the sky above, as if it was watching something threatening.

_38a0025-copy

The pair looked at each other, as if exchanging information about what the smaller owl had seen.

_38a0087-copy

I laughed to myself as I imagined what the smaller bird might be saying:  “Did you see that?”

Burrowing Owls are actually pretty vulnerable little birds and I would guess that there are some avian predators that wouldn’t mind an owl snack.  Great Horned Owls, for certain, and probably some other raptors, including Red-tailed Hawks, and, perhaps, Merlins and Kestrels, might prey on these very small owls.  So, the second owl’s preoccupation with the sky might well be rational.

Images made with a Canon 5Diii, 100-400 mm f4-5.6 ISII zoom lens, aperture priority setting, ISO 640, f8 @ 1/2000.

Leave a Reply

