American Rubyspot In The Rain

You may enlarge any image in this blog by clicking on it.  Click again for a full screen image.

Sometimes I post an image for no reason other than that I like it.  That’s the case with today’s photo.

I was over at Sweetwater Wetlands yesterday morning and got caught in the rain.  At first it was just a drizzle, but it intensified, and after about 1/2 hour I had to flee a heavy downpour.  Before things got too soggy, I noticed that the creatures at the wetlands had altered their behavior in order to cope with the rain.  Many of the dragonflies and damselflies sought shelter, perching under overhanging vegetation.  However, I noticed this one female American Rubyspot sitting out in the open long after her peers had taken refuge.

_92A8157 copy

I made this image of her before I ran for my car.  I really like it for several reasons.  First, I like the geometric shapes created by the damselfly’s body, wings, and the reeds.  There are a few curved shapes in this image, but mostly there are a series of straight lines forming shapes that look as if they could have been laid out with the aid of a ruler.  Second, I like the details in the photo.  Enlarge it and you’ll see tiny droplets of water on top of the damselfly’s abdomen and on her wings.  Finally, I like how the light has turned the insect’s wings into something resembling stained glass.  I’ve never quite seen this effect previously.

Image made with a Canon 5DS-R, 180mm f3.5L Macro Lens, assisted by Canon 600EX-RT Speedlite, camera stabilized by monopod, M setting, f13 @ 1/160.

Leave a Reply

