The Poetry Of Paper Wasps

You may enlarge any image in this blog by clicking on it.  Click again for a full screen image.

I am an unabashed lover of paper wasps.  To me, these insects are sublimely beautiful, with their brightly colored and aerodynamically streamlined bodies.  A few days ago I captured some images of a Polistes flavus wasp, one of the more commonly seen species in this area.  I’ve noted previously that this very large and extremely handsome wasp is native to the southwestern United States and Northern Mexico.

I thought I’d let my images do the talking today.  To me, this insect epitomizes gracefulness.

_92A7301 copy

_92A7302 copy

_92A7303 copy

I find it to be fascinating that these wasps just happened to evolve as something that we find to be very beautiful even if the wasps themselves likely have no comprehension of their own beauty. In paper wasp society there’s no room for aesthetics.

Images made with Canon 5DS-R, 180 mm f3.5L Macro Lens assisted by Canon 600EX-RT speedlite.  Camera and lens stabilized by monopod.  M setting, ISO 160, f16 @ 1/160.

2 responses to “The Poetry Of Paper Wasps”

  1. Tom Munson says :

    I have to agree, Steve. They are beautiful critters. Great shots.

  2. tkiiatmindspringcom says :

    They not only have grace, but darn good balance as well!

Leave a Reply

