More Lamb Chops, Anyone?

I have a tough time reconciling my lifelong history as a meat eater with tonight’s images.  On the one hand, I’m as fond of a good roast or steak as anyone, but on the other hand . . . .

_N4B9257 copy

These new-born lambs are as cute as anything I photograph.  Seeing them and then, visualizing them turned into lamb roasts or lamb chops sort of sets my teeth on edge.

_N4B9262 copy

I’ve long since given up eating lamb and veal but what’s really the difference between eating one of these and, say, hamburger made from yearling beef?  I’m not honestly sure that there, in fact, is any meaningful difference.

_N4B9275 copy

One thing’s for sure: next time I contemplate ordering a burger I’ll definitely think of this little one’s face.

Images made with a Canon 5Diii, 400 DO+1.4X Extender, aperture priority setting, ISO 320, f8 @ 1/640.

 

 

 

 

One response to “More Lamb Chops, Anyone?”

  1. tkiiatmindspringcom says :

    All I have to say is “Awwwwwwwwww….”

Leave a Reply

