Cooper’s At Dawn

A couple of weeks ago I was walking at Sweetwater Wetlands just at dawn when I saw a juvenile Cooper’s Hawk sitting in a tree. The young bird was obviously getting ready for the day; it had probably spent the night in that tree.  I got ready to photograph it and just as I did the sun broke the horizon.  The light came over my shoulder and illuminated the bird, coloring it and the tree on which it was perching a brilliant gold.

_N4B5600 copy

Normally, I’d consider correcting the white balance in an image like this by removing the strong golden cast.  However, the image is pretty much exactly as I remember the scene and so, I decided that I’d leave it as it is in order to present a somewhat unique view of this young raptor.  You’ll notice that this bird has a pale yellow eye.  Contrast that with the burnt orange eye of the adult Cooper’s Hawk image that I posted the other day.

Image made with a Canon 5Diii, 400 DO, aperture preferred setting, ISO 800, f5.6 @ 1/800.

Leave a Reply

