Morning Meadowlark

Reminder:  You can enlarge any of the photos in this blog by clicking on it.  Click again for a full-screen image.

Tonight I’m taking a brief hiatus from Bobcat photos (believe me, I have a lot more to post!) to show a very beautiful songbird that I photographed last weekend.  This is a Western Meadowlark.  In my opinion it is among the more colorful and graceful birds that one can find in southern Arizona this time of year.  I found this one in agricultural country northwest of Tucson.  It was part of a flock of several dozen meadowlarks.

_N4B4578 copy

Meadowlarks populate the grasslands and agricultural flatlands of southern Arizona in great numbers this time of year.  There are two species that winter here: the Eastern and Western Meadowlark.  They look very much alike although their songs are quite different.  A friend, Tom Munson helped me to identify this individual as a member of the Western species.  It is in non-breeding plumage.  During the breeding season the “bib” on the bird’s chest would be much darker.

Meadowlarks like to roost low and this bird was no exception.  I found it roosting on a branch that had fallen to the ground from an adjacent tree.  I photographed it from the driver’s side window of my car.  I do that more and more lately.   Most birds will fly when they are approached but they have a tendency to stay in place just a bit longer if the photographer doesn’t leave his or her vehicle.

Image made with a Canon 5Diii, 400 DO, aperture preferred setting, ISO 640, f5.6 @ 1/800.

One response to “Morning Meadowlark”

  1. tkiiatmindspringcom says :

    Beautiful little bird.

Leave a Reply

