“Gotta Go!”

Reminder:  You can enlarge any of the photos in this blog by clicking on it.  Click again for a full-screen image.

Tonight’s image is one of those pictures that is pure good luck.  I didn’t plan this shot, it just happened.  But, I’ll happily take credit for it, anyway.

I was driving on a rural road northwest of Tucson a couple of Sundays ago.   As I was driving I saw numerous meadowlarks.  I love these birds, both the Eastern and Western variants are beautiful, with their bright yellow breasts and dappled backs.  I saw one sitting on a wire and thought that it would make a good image.  I stopped the car and attempted to shoot it out of the passenger side window.  It flew, just as I pushed the shutter.  “Damn!” I thought.  “Missed it!”  Having birds fly just at the moment that one photographs them is an occupational hazard of nature photography for me and I have more images than I can count of an empty wire where once there sat a bird.  I assumed that’s what I had this time, an empty wire.  I was so confident that I’d missed the shot that I didn’t even bother to check the display on the camera’s back (a rarity for me).

When I got home, however, I was astonished to find this.

_N4B3836 copy

As I always say, it’s better to be lucky than good, and this is visual proof.

I mentioned above that there are two variants of meadowlark — the Eastern Meadowlark and the Western Meadowlark.  They both winter in southern Arizona.  They also are extremely similar in appearance and I don’t claim the skill to be able to tell them apart.  Their songs are different and I’ve been told that a lot of birders identify them that way.  So, I’ll settle for “meadowlark.”  Those of you who consider yourself to be identification experts are free to tell me which it is.

Image made with a Canon 5Diii, 400 DO, aperture preferred setting, ISO 640, f5.6 @ 1/2000.

3 responses to ““Gotta Go!””

  1. Julie Carpenter says :

    Wonderful shot! Julie

  2. Tom Munson says :

    Looks like a Western to me, Steve. Yellow malar not white and whitish flank not yellow or buffy colored. And spotted flanks not streaked.

  3. tkiiatmindspringcom says :

    Great picture! Bravo!

Leave a Reply

