Ms. Amberwing

Reminder:  You can enlarge any of the photos in this blog by clicking on it.  Click again for a full-screen image.

The other day I featured some images of a male Mexican Amberwing, a dragonfly that I think may be the most beautiful of all of the dragonflies and damselflies that I photograph.  I commented that female Amberwings are less colorful than the males.  True, but it’s all relative.  Here are a couple of images of a female.

_92A1417 copy

She lacks the male’s deep golden and orange hues but she’s delicately beautiful in her own right.  Her eyes, with their blue-gray and garnet hues are particularly pretty, as are her two-toned wings.

_92A1456 copy

This little female was very cooperative and posed patiently for me as I photographed her.  I wondered why she was so reluctant to leave her perch.  Then, I noticed a male amberwing, sitting less than a foot away from the female and similarly immobile.

_92A1434 copy

Was I interrupting a tryst?  Perhaps, and so, I wished the pair well and went on my way.

Images made with a Canon 5DS-R, 180 f3.5L Macro Lens assisted by Canon 600EX-RT Speedlite, ISO 125, M setting, f11 @ 1/160.

 

Leave a Reply

