Katydid, On Reflection

Reminder:  You can enlarge any of the photos in this blog by clicking on it.  Click again for a full-screen image.

Louisa and I were eating dinner last night when she asked me:  “what’s that insect?”  I looked in the direction she was pointing and saw a katydid sitting on the outside surface of our family room window.  I announced that I would photograph it if it was still there when we finished eating.  Ten minutes elapsed, we’d eaten, and the katydid hadn’t budged, so I grabbed my camera and went outside.  It sat obligingly, while I photographed it.

_38A4576 copy

Katydids are related to grasshoppers and, as should be obvious from their extremely long hind legs, they can jump considerable distances.  I see them in our backyard from time to time and I find them to be a welcome sight because of their grace and beauty.  A few weeks ago I featured a post of an immature katydid on our backyard grapefruit tree.  This individual is an adult.

I really like this second photograph because in it the katydid appears to be contemplating its reflection.  I doubt that it is, but who knows what these insects actually think?

_38A4595 copy

Images made with a Canon 5Diii, 180 f3.5L Macro Lens assisted by Canon 600EX-RT Speedlite, ISO 125, M setting, f13 @ 1/160.

2 responses to “Katydid, On Reflection”

  1. Sue says :

    I love the shot of the insect with reflection-it’s erie and beautiful.

  2. Liesl Kii says :

    The katydid seems much more graceful than the grasshopper. How did you get the second image of the insect contemplating its reflection?

Leave a Reply

