Guilty Pleasure

Reminder:  You can enlarge any of the photos in this blog by clicking on it.  Click again for a full-screen image.

I always feel a bit guilty after I photograph Burrowing Owls.  These little owls hate to leave their underground dens.  When I approach one, it will often freeze in place near the edge of its burrow and stare at you, obviously hoping against hope that the giant interloper will just go away and leave it in peace.

_N4B2039 copy

I can often approach one of these birds quite closely, coming within 20 feet or so of it before it flies.  When it does fly it will usually travel only a few yards and perch, often emitting a high-pitched distress call.

_N4B2226 copy

Thus these birds are easy to photograph, but a a price, that being that I’m almost certainly scaring the poor things to death when I’m taking their pictures.

That said, they are extraordinarily appealing birds and it is not hard to make a pretty good photograph of one of them.  I can’t resist taking a few pictures from time to time.  Still, I feel guilty.  Their breeding season will come sometime soon and I will definitely leave them alone then.

Photos taken with a Canon 5Diii, 400DO+1.4X Extender, ISO 500, M setting.  The first photo was taken at f6.3 @ 1/500, the second at f6.3 @ 1/1,250.

One response to “Guilty Pleasure”

  1. Liesl Kii says :

    These owls are just too cute! And despite your promise to leave them alone during breeding season, I hope we will get some baby owl pictures from you.

Leave a Reply

