“Are You A Boy, Or Are You A Girl?”

Reminder:  You can enlarge any of the photos in this blog by clicking on it.  Click again for a full-screen image.

The title of tonight’s post is inspired by a song of the same title by the Barbarians, a relatively obscure rock group of the mid-60s.  It was performed at a time when the androgynous look was popular among teens and the title is self-explanatory.

I thought of the song when I looked at this image.

_N4B9982 copy

I photographed this hummingbird about a week ago over at Sweetwater Wetlands and my belief as I was taking the picture was that the bird was a female Anna’s Hummingbird.

Not so fast!  When I got home I went to the field guides to verify my conclusion and I was baffled, briefly.  Although this bird lacks the flamboyant and colorful head and  throat feathers of a male Anna’s Hummingbird, neither does it have the plumage of a female.  A female Anna’s Hummingbird would have a small patch of iridescent red feathers under her chin.

It took me a while to realize that this is an immature male Anna’s Hummingbird.  Superficially, it resembles a female, but only superficially.  In time, it will acquire the brilliant red throat and head plumage of an adult male but, as for now, he’s just a boy — and not a girl!

 

Photo taken with a Canon 5Diii, 400 DO, ISO 400, aperture preferred setting, f6.3 @ 1/2500.

One response to ““Are You A Boy, Or Are You A Girl?””

  1. Liesl Kii says :

    This bird is as cute as a bug!

Leave a Reply

