Year End Countdown # 8 — “Hey, Neighbor!”

_N4B7234 copy

Reminder:  You can enlarge any of the photos in this blog by clicking on it.  Click again for a full-screen image.

We’re down to our top eight.  This photo of a Coyote is definitely one of my favorites.  I never thought I’d get a portrait of one of these animals.  My Coyote sightings over the years generally consisted of views of these animals’ hind ends as they disappeared into the brush.  But, this time was different.  On Thanksgiving morning I was driving on a suburban street near our home when I came across this Coyote and a companion crossing the road.  One of them vanished almost instantly.  The other one stopped and watched me intently for almost 1/2 minute.  It was standing only about 25 feet away, my camera was on the front seat of the car, so I grabbed it and photographed the Coyote out of the car’s open window.  As I balanced my telephoto lens on the door frame I said to myself:  “You’re not going to get this opportunity again, don’t blow the shot.”  I was delighted with the result and what I like most about it is that the background almost perfectly matches the Coyote’s eyes.  Stuff like that is pure good luck but I won’t turn it down.

Coyotes are as intelligent as any wildlife we humans encounter.  They originally were a western species but they benefitted so much from human modification of the environment that they now live throughout North America.  We chopped down the forests and built our suburbs and the Coyotes happily moved in.  They’ve prospered, expanded their range, and increased their numbers manifold.  We may think of ourselves as top dogs but Coyotes own this country every bit as much as we do.  They truly are our neighbors.

Canon 5Diii, 400 DO, ISO 640, aperture preferred setting, f6.3 @ 1/1000.

One response to “Year End Countdown # 8 — “Hey, Neighbor!””

  1. Liesl Kii says :

    You make this coyote look like a noble animal!

Leave a Reply

