Mystery Damsel

Reminder:  You can enlarge any of the photos in this blog by clicking on it.  Click again for a full-screen image.

I’ve spent a lot of time scratching my head and trying to figure out which species of damselfly this is, and I’ve given up.  I photographed it last week at Sweetwater Wetlands.

_38A8803 copy

The problem is this: there are dozens of species of damselflies, Dancers and Bluets, and they all pretty much look alike.  To make matter even more complicated, there are often individual differences in appearance within species.  Honestly, I suspect that even the experts sometimes get it wrong.  So, I’m stumped on this one.

That said, in my opinion failing to identify this insect does not detract an iota from its beauty.  Damselflies are the smaller, more delicate cousins of dragonflies.  This little insect is barely an inch long but is as exquisite as anything I’ve ever photographed.

Photo taken with Canon 5Diii, 180 f3.5L Macro lens assisted by Canon 600EX-RT Speedlite, ISO 125, “M” setting, f16 @ 1/160.

2 responses to “Mystery Damsel”

  1. Sue says :

    I agree.

  2. Liesl Kii says :

    This is truly a beautiful and delicate little creature!

Leave a Reply

