How I Fell For A Spider

Reminder:  You can enlarge any of the photos in this blog by clicking on it.  Click again for a full screen image.

I’ve described myself as an arachnophile on one occasion and I’ve posted photos of spiders on several occasions.  I truly love the little creatures and I will go to considerable lengths to get good photos of them.

Today I was with a friend, Claude Wegscheider, near Sabino Creek.  He spent some time photographing a spider, an unusual orb weaver, while I chased dragonflies.  We were leaving the area when he suggested to me that I might be interested in photographing the spider as well.  So, we retraced our footsteps and I descended from the roadway down to the creek bank.

Claude was right, the spider was unusual, and to my eyes, unusually beautiful, and I was delighted to photograph it.  I got a few good images, including this one.

_38A8305 copy

Perfectionist that I am, however, I wasn’t completely satisfied with what I had and I decided that, if I leaned just a few inches to my left, I could get a better shot.  And, so I did, and in slow motion, fell into the creek.  I fell slowly enough so that I was able to protect my camera by holding it above me with my right arm. But, I was drenched from head to toe, of course.  Not entirely unpleasant, given the morning heat, but still, a bit embarrassing.

Claude helped me out of the creek and then memorialized the moment with a photo of my examining my cellphone, which became defunct the instant it made contact with the creek.

_MG_2383 copy

Fortunately, the contract on the phone expired two weeks ago and I was on the cusp of getting a new one anyway, so the tragedy was much less than it might have been.  I’m due to go to the arctic with Claude next June and I’ll remember this:  there is only so far to the left that one can lean without toppling over.

Photo of spider taken with a Canon 5Diii, 180 f3.5L Macro Lens, assisted by Canon 600EX-RT Speedlite, ISO 125, f10 @ 1/160.

2 responses to “How I Fell For A Spider”

  1. Liesl Kii says :

    This just goes to show you there is more than one kind of wild life in Sabino Creek! Very interesting spider, by the way.

  2. Julie Carpenter says :

    Fun one Me

Leave a Reply

